“Gwen’s novel is thoughtful, insightful and she so eloquently expresses the inner struggles of change, grief and letting go. Each step of her journey is more about the steps in her mind, the openness of pain and the exploration of her own choices on the trail that, while helping her explore herself, give such respect to being in a place at a certain time for a reason, crossing paths with people in that moment for a distinct reasons, all on a path to a new chapter of her own life. As a reader (and watcher) of Wild, I appreciated this read FAR more and only wanted the book to continue. There is no comparison to Gwen’s humble, deeply insightful approach to writing and I can only hope she writes another.” Maria

“This memoir takes the reader on a multi-sensory journey, from Hawaii, across the United States, and on to the Camino through Spain. Although it begins at a heartbreaking moment in the author’s life, her story is filled with hope and gratitude. Where there is sorrow, there is no wallowing, but rather a renewed sense to continue on and turn in to the discomfort. This approach resonated with me as it speaks to the growth and discovery that can be found only by facing oneself honestly and fully.
The book is comprised of short chapters and the prose is simple, and yet poetic at times. The author expertly reveals just enough detail about the pain, discovery and growth to enable the reader to connect with and, inevitably, cheer her along. There are several recipes included within the book, highlighting the sights, smells, and tastes of the trail. In this way, the reader is invited to walk alongside her throughout the journey.
For readers who enjoyed Eat, Pray, Love and Wild, this book will sweep you up and remind you of of the strength that lies within each of us when we allow ourselves to surrender and see where life’s “arrows” may lead us.” Amazon customer

“I was drawn into this story from the first page and didn’t put it down.” Carol C.

“I took this book on vacation and read it on the beach. What a delightful adventure! I loved how the author added recipes along the way. Authentic sharing from the heart.” Lisa S.

“From the moment I picked up this book, I did not want to put it down. The first page grabbed my attention and then suddenly I was off an adventure that resonates with the universal experience of grief that gives way to healing and transformation. Gwen pries open the doors of her heart to share with readers her vulnerability, her explorations in spirituality and her genuine love of food. This is a book that leaves you wanting to know what happens next…” Emily T.

“A must read for anyone with a little adventure in their heart.” Aaron T.

“What an incredible author! Her magic with words make you feel you are right there with her. I cried with her, I hiked with her and I rejoiced with her in her triumphs. I could not put this book down until I finished it entirely. Can’t wait for the next book!” Loree E.

“I was glued to this book from the first sentence, and mesmerized til the last! I literally could not put it down and read it in a couple hours…. Definitely will read again and I can’t wait for more reads from Gwen!” Amazon reader

“She captured my heart as I read this page turner…I felt as though I went along side her. She captured the beauty of the region, the sights, smells, and journey of searching her heart on the Camino De Santiago.” Amazon reader

“I just finished reading Follow That Arrow . Gwen has a way with words that I really like. When she describes the scenery and the places she visits it makes me want to join her. The Cammino must have been a very exciting place. Good job Gwen. I’m looking for the second installment in about a year.” Bev W.

MakeupBrew blog